Archive for August 30, 2008

Oh boy…

Aren’t these beautiful flowers?  J and S brought them to me today.  At first I thought it was because I am 1 day shy of 37 weeks, tired, grumpy, hungry, blah, blah, blah.  But no.  Here is why, in J’s own words…

As my 4-year-old son and I were entering the grocery store we stopped by the flower case to look at our list.  As I was deciding where we needed to go my son, very innocently, asked “Dad, how did mom get pregnant?”  I stared at him in silence for a moment trying to decide what to say.  In a desperate attempt to dodge the question I looked at the flowers and said “Should we get Mom some flowers?” He was sufficiently distracted and ceased his line of questioning, delaying the inevitable “talk”.

Oh boy, you know this is going to come up again…I was just hoping it wouldn’t be until he was much older!

Comments (2)